My First EVER Home Made Lasagne

I got on the scales this morning to discover i’d lost 2lb…is that it? 2 measly pounds?   Hardly seems worth dieting lol 😉

So today was not a fast day. In fact, it was a momentous occasion…I made Lasagne 🙂  I used the recipe that Gennaro Contaldo demonstrated on Food and Drink last week. I took these notes from watching the TV show.

Gennaro’s Lasagne

  • 300g minced beef
  • 300g minced pork
  • Lasange pasta sheets
  • 2 carrots chopped
  • 1 celery stick chopped
  • 1 onion chopped
  • large glass red wine
  • 1 tin chopped tomatoes (i used one with italian chopped herbs) + the same again of water
  • 1 ball Mozarella
  • 2tsp plain flour
  • 40g butter
  • 500ml milk
  • 100g Parmesan
  1. Fry the mince in olive oil until all the liquid has gone. Add the onion, carrot and celery and cook until the meat begins to caramelise and the vegetables are beginning to tenderise.
  2. Add the wine and simmer until evaporated then add the tomatoes and water and simmer gently.
  3. Meanwhile make the white sauce using the butter, flour and milk. Remove from the heat and add the parmesan.
  4. Add more liquid to the meat if it seems too dry and season to taste. Layer between the pasta sheets, finishing with the white sauce. Grate some Parmesan over the top before baking in the oven covered with foil for 35-45 mins. Remove foil for 10 minutes to allow the top to brown.

photo

Ok, i used a bag of mixed grated cheese on the top of mine, because i know how much The Hubster and my daughter like the crusty bit on top 😉

Soooo, my thoughts, The Fams feedback? It was a bit dry (but it wasn’t when i layered it)…and you couldn’t even tell that i’d put Mozarella between the layers. Then a discussion ensued on whether the white/Bechamel sauce should be between the layers of pasta.

photo-2

Still, I’m quite proud of it for a first attempt…but i will be making some changes next time 😉

Do you put your Bechamel between the layers of pasta?

15 thoughts on “My First EVER Home Made Lasagne

  1. I alternate layers of meat and bechamel then a thicker bechamel layer on top before adding cheese, my lot like the bubbly toasted look on top of I use a mozzarella/cheddar mix then ten mins before the end add grated red Leicester and bang it under the grill

  2. No white sauce for me with lasagna. Looked good though. I alternate layers of red sauce with ground beef, shredded mozzarella, and cottage cheese. The last layer is always mozzarella. Can never go wrong with melted cheese…yummm.

  3. I use a brilliant Gordon Ramsay recipe which goes meat / pasta / bechamel, repeated and then extra cheese on top – Parmesan and whatever else I have in the fridge. Normally cheddar and/or mozzarella. It’s delicious!

    2 lbs is still 2 lbs hun 🙂 xx

  4. I do put bechamel in my layers – I dollop it on top of the mince (in my case Quorn mince) and then chuck a generous measure over the top before adding the cheese. It can dry out easily (because the pasta absorbs the moisture) but I’ve had good results with fresh pasta sheets. 🙂 x

  5. I put layers of meat sauce and bechamel sauce in with the pasta and then finish with a layer of bechamel on top and I don’t add cheese on top. The lasagne tends to suck up the moisture so I always make it a bit sloppier than I like it.

  6. Yum. I love homemade lasagne, although I usually use minced lamb and, occasionally, when I’m feeling very decadent, a few morsels of bacon, too. Chopped red peppers and garlic are also two other most acceptable ingredients.

Leave a Reply

