The Lurpak Bake Club – Banana Bread

I found out about this through The Pink Whisk (the blog and website of Great British Bake Off contestant Ruth Clemens) and as i always use Lurpak butter to bake with, i guess i am forced (snigger) to take part 🙂

The whole idea of The Bake Club is to bake…then upload a photo…and you could possibly win a prize. I don’t really fancy my chances, but, what do they say? If you don’t try, you’ll never know.

So i’ve been pulling me hair out, trying to think how i can meet the brief this month which is “a daring loaf of bread”… (can’t believe how many people have uploaded pics that have nothing to do with a loaf of bread…cupcakes? Seriously? Don’t people read the details? lol) and i think this will count.

Recently, my lovely friend Sabrina over in the US has given me her recipe for her Banana Bread 🙂 Now, the reason this loaf would be daring, is because don’t like Bananas lol. But I’m putting my faith in Sabrina that this loaf will change my views ( i bet she’s gulped as she read that lol).

Sabrina’s Banana Bread

Ive had to alter the recipe slightly (US to UK). Hope you don’t mind Sabrina 🙂

  • 1/2 Cup melted butter (Lurpak of course!)
  • 1 and 1/4 Cup caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 Ripe Bananas, mashed
  • 1 Cup plain flour
  • 1 Cup wholemeal flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 3 tbsp milk
  1. Grease a loaf tin and set the oven to 180 degree’s.
  2. Pour the melted butter in a mixing bowl with the sugar.  Add the eggs and mashed up bananas.  Mix well and add the bicarbonate, baking powder and salt.  Blend well then add the flour, milk and vanilla.
  3. Mix ingredients well and pour into the greased loaf tin.
  4. Bake for 1 hour.  Test to see if it is done by poking the middle with a metal skewer.  If  not cooked place back in the oven until the skewer comes out clean.

photo

Well….. *grins* what can i say? Its gorgeous! Especially hot from the oven with butter on it 😉

photo-2

Thank you so much Sabrina. I can now eat Bananas! 😉 I might try this recipe with other fruits…Blueberry? And next time i might try using just white flour rather than the mixture.

So ive entered this in this months Lurpak Comp…Wish me luck!

8 thoughts on “The Lurpak Bake Club – Banana Bread

  1. I just read your post Vikki and I did gulp…lol. As I kept reading further down, I was really hoping it turned out good and you liked it…lol…especially after finding out you don’t like bananas. I was relieved to find out it did and glad you were able to convert it to UK measures. I wasn’t sure how to do that. Your loaf turned out beautifully and best wishes on winning the contest. Thanks! 🙂

    • Ha ha ha 😉

      We don’t use “cups” here in the UK, but most people who cook have access to the measurements via measuring jugs and measuring spoons (like i do) so that was ok. No, it was the flour that had me thinking….you grind your own, how cool is THAT! So i went for half plain white (i think you call that all purpose) and half wholemeal. The Hubster wasn’t keen on it, he said it smelt funny, and i think that was the wholemeal. Next time i’ll try it just with white, or perhaps i won’t…i liked it just the way it was…which reminds me…its breakfast time and i still have enough for 2 more slices 😉

      Thanks again honey xx

  2. Just out of *ahem* pure curiosity – what size loaf tin did you use? And how did you measure out softened butter by volume before melting it? (And what’s the difference between baking powder and bicarb of soda anyway?!).

    • Lol…the loaf tin was one i had in the cupboard Lin (?) and the butter, well, i scooped out 2 dessert spoon fulls and melted it. It was pretty spot on lol.

      As far as Bicarb & Baking Powder is concerned…who knows! lol

      xx

      • But was it a big one (2lb tin) or small one (1lb tin)? Cos I have a funny feeling that if I ever should, like, give it a go, I might, maybe, find that there’s rather a lot for my small tin and I might have to get a second out and use that as well… but then I’d have two cakes anyway, and I’m sure one would freeze, right? 😉

Leave a Reply

