Chick Pea Mash…Where Have You Been All My Life?

I haven’t cooked the last couple of days. Fasting on Thursday and of course, Fridays is always takeaway night. Which has been handy because I’ve felt really rough 😦 I’m boring myself now with being ill, let alone everyone around me.

So today The Hubster went to a chess match and I cooked Nigel Slaters Slow Cooked Lamb with Chick Pea Mash. OMFG! Chick Pea Mash! 🙂

It was a bit stressful, especially as I wasn’t feeling too great…have you ever tried to mash chick peas? I tried a manual approach with a potato masher…then I tried the blender…and finally, my Braun Hand Blender… needless to say, the mash was a bit lumpy lol…but still bloody good. As usual, I changed the recipe and just added stuff to taste 😉

Chick Pea Mash

2 cans Chick Peas, drained
1 onion chopped
Knob of butter
Olive oil
Paprika, salt & pepper to taste

Fry the onion in olive oil and butter until soft then add the chick peas to warm through. Place in a food processor and blitz, adding olive oil and seasoning to taste.

Ok, I knew I needed a food processor, but now, I really need one! But, saying that, I quite liked it lumpy 🙂

20140222-204513.jpg
I served it with the lamb (that was cooked for 3 hours),

20140222-204727.jpg
roasted butternut squash and buttered spinach.

20140222-204848.jpg
I also made a pumpkin bread (from a bread mix) that matched the whole thing perfectly.

20140222-205239.jpg

So now I’m on the look out for a food processor…do you have one? And if so, would you recommend your model? There are so many on the market!

4 thoughts on “Chick Pea Mash…Where Have You Been All My Life?

  1. I’ll have to admit I was excited by the thought of lamb and pumpkin bread, but not chick-pea mash. I was thinking ewww, but I’d have to try it first. Might be good. I do like hummus and it’s made out of chick peas. I used to have a food processor, but used it so little I don’t even know where it is right now.

    • I know it doesn’t look very pretty in the photo, but it was REALLY nice. Nutty, crunch in places (ok, that was more down to my lack of equipment) and definitely (IMO) a much more interesting addition to the plate than mash would have been. Give it a go honey and let me know what you think 🙂

      xx

Leave a Reply

