Like Mother Like Son

My middle son (aged 23) asked for a cookery book for Christmas. He had suddenly realised that if he was ever going to move out and live on his own he better start learning how to cook. I went for Delia’s How To Cook and so far he’s worked his way through the “egg” section so he won’t starve when he finds himself in his own place *sighs with relief* lol.

But i think he got bored with eggs, so he’s been branching out. He’s made a curry, a banana loaf, some brownies, soup and today…Lemon Sorbet. Β I always envisaged helping my daughter in the kitchen, showing her time saving tips and the best way to get the zest off a lemon, but no, its my son who’s asking me those questions, and that feels odd…good…but odd lol. As for my daughter? I think she aspires to earning so much money she’ll never have to enter her kitchen, apart from to make herself a green tea πŸ˜‰

Fresh Lemon Sorbet

  • 675g Granulated Sugar
  • 660ml Water
  • 500ml freshly squeezed Lemon juice (approx 12)
  • 1.5 tbsp Lemon zest
  1. Place the sugar and water in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Simmer until the sugar dissolves then cool completely.
  2. When cool add the lemon juice and zest and stir well. Cover and chill for 2 -3 hours.
  3. Pour the chilled mixture into the freezer bowl of an ice cream maker and churn until it becomes a soft sorbet.

photo-2

It was lovely, and a great dessert to follow on from my Toad in the Hole with curly chips and baked beans.

photo

I was brought up on my Nans Toad, and she would always put the bacon in separately to the sausages. But, I’m getting the impression that this isΒ not the norm, and that most people wrap their bacon around the sausages first.

So are your pigs already in their blankets before they get covered with their quilt?

4 thoughts on “Like Mother Like Son

  1. Cooking with the ‘big kids’ is great. I bake with my seventeen year old daughter and often cook with my 21 year old son. Making the most of it before they fly the nest forever! 😦

Leave a Reply

