Shep-Cott Pie

Ive always thought that the difference between a Shepherds Pie and a Cottage Pie was to do with:

  • The Meat (Lamb Vs Beef)
  • The other ingredients (Peas & Carrots Vs Plain)

But it seems there really is no specific difference between the two. So i guess i make Shep-Cott Pie rather than one or the other. Heres the one i made today…sorry i can’t be specific with measurements, but I’m a big believer in adapting recipes to what you and your family like. I tend to throw in things i have in the fridge, so when i make a meal, its never quite the same each time lol. I haven’t made one of these in ages…

Vikki’s Shep-Cott Pie 

  • Minced Beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 1 stick of celery, chopped
  • 12 fine green beans, chopped
  • Potatoes
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • 2 stock cubes
  • herbs/spices (depends on my mood lol)
  1. Fry all the veg (plus any herbs and spices you’re using) in a little olive oil until tender and throw into a casserole dish. Fry off the mince and add to the veg along with stock cubes and a little water. Bung it in the oven for an hour with a lid on (i like my mince to be meltingly tender but you could always just simmer it in a saucepan for 20 minutes). For a richer sauce add some Gravy Granules.
  2. While the mince is in the oven peel and quarter some potatoes and sweet potatoes (adjust ratio to taste) and boil until tender. Make into a creamy mash with butter or sour cream.
  3. Remove mince from the oven and spoon the mash over the top. Put back in the oven (without a lid) for 20 minutes until the mash is golden and crispy.

photo-2

What i love about this recipe is that i can add anything to the mince…peas, tomatoes, broccoli, peppers or mushrooms. When the kids were younger i would grate the veg in so they couldn’t see it 😉

I sprinkled a little bit of Gruyere on top and served it with peas, home made bread and some gravy…real comfort food on a cold February night 🙂

photo

For dessert, i finally managed to make my friend Sarah’s cake. The Marzipan & Cherry Cake recipe is on Sarah’s blog. Sarah, if you’re reading this, it was wonderful 🙂
photo-4

 

photo-3

Shepherd or Cottage? What do you call it?

14 thoughts on “Shep-Cott Pie

  1. I was always brought up that Shepherds pie was lamb and cottage pie was beef and as I don’t like lamb it is cottage pie in my house every time 😀 Marzipan cake sounds gorgeous I actually had a recipe for a chocolate stollen I was going to have a go at this Christmas but didn’t get round to.

  2. It’s always called shepherds pie in our house eventhough it’s nearly always made with beef. Just can’t get my head around calling it anything else lol.

    LOVE the sound of the cake. Have some marzipan in the cupboard too so can’t wait to try it!! 🙂

  3. My husband insists lamb makes it shepherd’s pie, beef makes it cottage pie. Before I met him I called the one made with beef shepherd’s pie and thought cottage pie was just a posh version. I’d never had it with lamb. Now my husband has educated me (he was a butcher).

Leave a Reply

