Killer Mac N Cheese

Today was a momentous day *drum roll*

finally cooked my own Macaroni Cheese…for the first time…EVER! lol

And there was only one person i trusted to help me… Jamie Oliver 🙂

Love him or hate him, you have to admit, that man loves food.

The recipe i used was “Killer Mac N Cheese” from Jamie’s web site and i served it with baked gammon, garden peas (don’t ask…my lot seem to think Mac is a side dish lol) and another bread from the bread maker, i went for “French” this time (which took 6 hours) and it was the best so far!

20140123-223535.jpg
So the Mac was yummy….but…

I used more than the 250g of cheese it states in the recipe and we were all disappointed that it wasn’t that cheesy 😦 So when/if i make it again, i’ll be adding more cheese. There’s a bit left in the fridge so I know what I’ll be having for lunch tomorrow (with more grated cheese on top lol) 😉

20140123-223612.jpg

7 thoughts on “Killer Mac N Cheese

  1. I quite often make macaroni cheese, although haven’t for a while. I think it depends how much I make as to whether I have it as a side served as you did with gammon or if I make lots I usually add a tomato to the plate to give it a splash of colour! I also like it cheesy. As I don’t follow a recipe I usually open the bag of grated cheese and pour in until I decide to stop!

      • Lol. I boil the macaroni – I usually do 2 handfuls each and one for the pot! – Very non technical!

        Then make the sauce – 2 desert spoons of flour (I use whatever I have in & it works OK!) then salt and pepper, Add a knob of butter to the pan then add the milk (1 pint). Add the flour and salt and pepper and STIR – no lumps! When it thickens add the cheese and keep stiring.

        Once the macaroni is cooked I add to a oven proof dish, pour over the cheese sauce and sprinkle with grated cheese and pop in the oven to crisp the top and that it is it. (I usually put my oven on to heat when I put the macaroni on) so it takes about 10 mins in the oven to crisp.

  2. I love homemade mac-n-cheese. I made it for the first time last year with a recipe out of an old cookbook. It tasted so good and I was amazed it was so easy. Beats the boxed stuff I grew up with. I just don’t do the breadcrumbs on top. I just want the smooth creamy texture. I looked at the recipe you used and like that it called for tomatoes and garlic…sounds good…may have to give it a shot next time I make mac-n-cheese.

    • Im ashamed to say my kids were brought up on the boxed stuff so i think they were a bit freaked out by my home made version lol. You could really taste the garlic (there were 10 cloves in it!!) but in a nice way 🙂 If you do Sabrina, let me know how you get on.

      xx

Leave a Reply

