Chilli Beef Cornbread Pie

Found this recipe in Delicious magazine and thought i’d give it a go.

Having a family of 6 to cater for I decided it might be an idea to invest in individual pie dishes, that way, everyone would have the same amount and there couldn’t be any arguments lol (plus I could cook them individually as and when people got home). So that meant a trip to Lakeland and also a trip to John Lewis. I didn’t end up buying the individual dishes (they all seemed so small lol) but I did seem to acquire a rather nice set of cookie cutters lol

But I digress…so I ended up making the pie in one big dish, and although the recipe is long winded (you have to cook the meat for 2 hours before you assemble the pie) it was well worth it 🙂 I did however fiddle with the recipe (sorry Paul, I really can’t help myself!) and didn’t add any chillies to the Cornbread.

20140121-190025.jpg
Cooked Chilli Beef before the topping was added. I was a bit worried at this stage because the cornbread “dough” was wet and lumpy lol…but I need not have panicked.

20140121-190126.jpg
Cheesy crispy topping, straight out of the oven.

20140121-190200.jpg
The finished dish…mmmmmm 🙂

You can find Paul Hollywoods recipe here on the Delicious web site. I highly recommend it, and I tell you what…that pie topping would be lovely with steak & kidney…chicken & mushroom…ham & leek…

6 thoughts on “Chilli Beef Cornbread Pie

Leave a Reply

