Cooking Up Memories

Last night I made Nigel’s Prosciutto & Fontina Pastries, except, they became my Serrano & Gruyere Pastries lol. Bloody supermarkets! You’d think it would be easier to find these things wouldn’t you. Waitrose let me down on the cheese even with their “cheese room” 😦

Anyway, they were pretty good, and even had The Hubster thinking of other combinations we could do…Chorizo and Mozarella might be on the menu next time and my daughter wants to try Sausage, Baked Beans & Cheddar.

Very simple to make, but make sure you roll out the ready made pastry so that it’s much thinner. Cut a rectangle, put your “contents” in the middle, seal up and bake!

20140115-221325.jpg
I decided to grate the Gruyere (as it was a fairly small piece) and opened my cupboard where I keep my graters. I have a snazzy modern one, but my preference is for the basic square metal one…because it belonged to my grandmother. I suddenly realised as I picked it up that I’ve been using this grater ever since I inherited it when she died, 15 years ago. I don’t know exactly how long she had owned it, but I remember her using it when I was a child. She used to store it in a drawer at the bottom of her oven. I also have one of her ceramic mixing bowls, her china rolling pin (which i don’t use incase it breaks) a slotted spoon, a couple of knives, and my prized kitchen possession…a square glass dish that she used for Toad in The Hole and roast potatoes. I swear, if I use any other dish for Toad, it doesn’t taste as good πŸ™‚

I guess I feel like she’s with me when I’m cooking. She was a fantastic family “cook” and her meals, although basic and traditional, were always tasty. I think I get my passion from her, even if she didn’t allow tomato sauce (Ketchup) in her kitchen and ate sugar sandwiches πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “Cooking Up Memories

  1. I have some of my Gran’s things, and also some of my mum’s. They are extra special and it would be heartbreaking to break any of them! Recipe sounds good – food for thought! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

